Regardless of the weapon classification, a weapons charge is typically a serious matter. Anyone who faces an aggravated assault with a deadly weapon charge in Texas should familiarize themselves with how Texas defines a deadly weapon as this could help you prepare a defense for yourself.
The Texas Penal Code defines a deadly weapon as the following:
- “A firearm or anything manifestly designed, made, or adapted for the purpose of inflicting death or serious bodily injury,” and/or
- “Anything that in the manner of its use or intended use is capable of causing death or serious bodily injury.”
By the law using the word “anything,” it allows for items other than simply firearms to be considered a deadly weapon. Likewise, the phrase “manner of its use or intended use” allows for non-traditional weapons to be considered deadly.
Hire a Texas defense lawyer
Being convicted of aggravated assault with a deadly weapon constitutes a second-degree felony in the state of Texas. A second-degree felony carries with it a sentence of 2 to 20 years in prison as well as a fine of up to $10,000.
If the crime was associated with domestic violence, the charge could be elevated to a first-degree felony, which also elevates the prison time up to life in prison.
For these reasons, it’s important for anyone facing a charge of aggravated assault with a deadly weapon to hire an experienced defense lawyer who can help ensure your legal rights are protected.